Use Windows 10 instead of Zorin OS

There is a video embedded on this page. You can activate subtitles for our videos if you do not understand Swiss German. To do so, click on the corresponding button at the bottom of the video. You can also have the subtitles translated automatically.

It may be that Zorin OS is not the right operating system for you because, for example, you need Windows 10 because of school. We have therefore put together a simple video explaining how you can install it.


With the button "CC" you can show subtitles in the video. You can display the subtitles in many different languages.

If the video is not displayed correctly, watch the video directly on "YouTube". To do this, click on the button of the same name in the video area (usually at the bottom right).


1. start the Windows 10 installation wizard

Search for "Windows 10" on your PC and start the application. If you do not have the programme, you can download the installation programme here: Windows 10 Installer

 

2. follow the instructions in the wizard

The installation wizard should guide you cleanly. Make absolutely sure that you have saved all data somewhere where you can use it again later. For example:

  • Another USB stick
  • Google Drive
  • Microsoft OneDrive
  • External hard disk

 

3. installation of Windows 10

ATTENTIONAs soon as you start the installation, all data on the laptop will be lost - including the previous operating system. Make sure that you have saved all important files somewhere (see point 2 of these instructions).

The Windows 10 installer should provide you with all the important information so that you can now continue on your own.

 

4. after the installation

Once Windows 10 has been installed, you will have to be patient for a few minutes. It is possible that your laptop still has to download a few important programmes. After the installation, check whether the following things work:

  • Camera
  • Speakers
  • Microphone

With more modern laptops, these things should work without any problems. If your laptop has a few years under its belt, Windows 10 may now need a few additional programmes. A driver is the programme that allows the laptop to use a camera, for example. If something doesn't work, you probably don't have the appropriate driver.

This is how you do it:

 1. find out which laptop you own

Your laptop may be labelled on the screen or below the keyboard (e.g. "HP EliteBook 840" or "Lenovo Yoga X1"). If you can't find a model there, look on the back of the laptop. If you are still stuck, click on the Windows symbol at the bottom left and search for "System information". As soon as you select this option, a window should open. Here you will find the exact model.

 2. search for the appropriate drivers

With the model name, you can now search the Internet for the appropriate drivers. If the camera does not work, you can search Google for "Dell Latitude E6540 camera driver", for example. You should then get some search results.

Make sure that you always download these drivers from the website that is also the manufacturer of the laptop. Unfortunately, there are many sites that will try to install harmful programmes for you. You can easily recognise this by the URL (website name). 

Some manufacturers (e.g. HP) also offer driver tools that can help you to find the right drivers. Here is the link: HP Driver Downloads 

3. install the driver

After you have downloaded the correct driver, you can install it in a few steps. Since a different procedure is required depending on the driver and the problem, we would like to link you to a video that shows the procedure: Install driver

 4. restart your laptop

Once everything has been installed, you will be asked in most cases if you want to restart the laptop. If this is not the case (and your device still does not work), restart the laptop again.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Utiliser Windows 10 au lieu de Zorin OS

Une vidéo est intégrée à cette page. Tu peux activer les sous-titres de nos vidéos si tu ne comprends pas le suisse allemand. Pour ce faire, clique sur le bouton correspondant dans la partie inférieure de la vidéo. Tu peux aussi faire traduire les sous-titres automatiquement.

Il se peut que Zorin OS ne soit pas le bon système d'exploitation pour toi, par exemple parce que tu as besoin de Windows 10 pour l'école. Nous t'avons donc préparé une vidéo simple dans laquelle nous t'expliquons comment l'installer.


Avec le bouton "CC", tu peux afficher les sous-titres dans la vidéo. Tu peux afficher les sous-titres dans de nombreuses langues différentes.

Si la vidéo ne s'affiche pas correctement, regarde la vidéo directement sur "YouTube". Pour ce faire, clique sur le bouton du même nom dans la zone vidéo (généralement en bas à droite).


1. lance l'assistant d'installation de Windows 10

Cherche "Windows 10" sur ton PC et démarre l'application. Si le programme n'est pas disponible chez toi, tu peux télécharger le programme d'installation ici : Installateur de Windows 10

 

2. suis les instructions de l'assistant

L'assistant d'installation devrait te guider proprement. Assure-toi impérativement que tu as enregistré toutes les données quelque part où tu pourras les réutiliser plus tard. Par exemple :

  • Autre clé USB
  • Google Drive
  • Microsoft OneDrive
  • Disque dur externe

 

3. installation de Windows 10

ATTENTIONDès que tu démarres l'installation, toutes les données de l'ordinateur portable seront perdues, y compris le système d'exploitation actuel. Assure-toi au plus tard à ce moment-là que tu as sauvegardé tous les fichiers importants quelque part (voir point 2 de ces instructions).

L'installateur de Windows 10 devrait te fournir toutes les informations importantes pour que tu puisses continuer par toi-même.

 

4. après l'installation

Une fois Windows 10 installé, tu dois encore patienter quelques minutes. Il est bien possible que ton ordinateur portable doive encore télécharger quelques programmes importants. Après l'installation, vérifie que les choses suivantes fonctionnent :

  • Caméra
  • Haut-parleur
  • Micro

Sur les ordinateurs portables plus modernes, ces choses devraient fonctionner sans problème. Si ton ordinateur portable a déjà quelques années, il se peut que Windows 10 ait encore besoin de quelques programmes supplémentaires. Un pilote est le programme qui permet à l'ordinateur portable d'utiliser par exemple une caméra. Si quelque chose ne fonctionne pas, c'est qu'il te manque le pilote correspondant.

Voici comment procéder :

 1. découvre le type d'ordinateur portable que tu possèdes

Il se peut que ton ordinateur portable soit inscrit sur l'écran ou sous le clavier (par exemple "HP EliteBook 840" ou "Lenovo Yoga X1"). Si tu ne trouves pas de modèle, regarde aussi au dos de l'ordinateur portable. Si tu n'y parviens pas non plus, clique en bas à gauche sur l'icône Windows et cherche maintenant "Informations système". Dès que tu sélectionnes cette option, une fenêtre devrait s'ouvrir. Tu y trouveras le modèle exact.

 2. recherche des pilotes appropriés

Avec le nom du modèle, tu peux maintenant chercher sur Internet les pilotes appropriés. Si la caméra ne fonctionne pas, tu peux par exemple rechercher "Dell Latitude E6540 caméra driver" dans Google. Tu devrais ensuite obtenir quelques résultats de recherche.

Veille à toujours télécharger ces pilotes à partir du site web qui est aussi celui du fabricant de l'ordinateur portable. Malheureusement, il y a beaucoup de sites qui vont essayer de t'installer des programmes nuisibles. Tu peux les reconnaître à l'URL (nom du site web). 

Certains fabricants (p. ex. HP) proposent également des outils de pilotage qui peuvent t'aider à trouver les bons pilotes. Voici un lien vers ces outils : Téléchargements de pilotes HP 

3. installe le pilote

Une fois que tu as téléchargé le bon pilote, tu peux l'installer en quelques étapes. Comme la procédure varie en fonction du pilote et du problème, nous te mettons volontiers en lien une vidéo qui montre la procédure : Installer les pilotes

 4. redémarre ton ordinateur portable

Une fois que tout est installé, il te sera demandé, dans la plupart des cas, si tu souhaites redémarrer ton ordinateur portable. Si ce n'est pas le cas (et que ton appareil ne fonctionne toujours pas), redémarre une nouvelle fois l'ordinateur portable.

Cet article vous a-t-il été utile ?

Articles connexes

fr_FRFrançais